This is all just a big misunderstanding.

1 October 2008

This whole Sarah Palin episode has reached such heights of ridiculousness that it’s hard to know what things are scurrilous rumors and which are facts. So far, the more outrageous things are the true ones, but I do think she’s gotten an unfair shake.

For example, I hear (but am too busy with sarcasm to look up) that she didn’t know what the morning-after

Uh-oh, indeed.

Uh-oh, indeed.

pill was. I think the important thing to remember is that in Alaska, the morning-after pill is pretty useless and therefore not widely known. After all, as far north as they are, the “morning after” is actually sometime in the middle of the second trimester.

And then there’s the interview in which (I shit, dear reader, you not) the two authors most influential on her are C.S. Lewis and a guy who for many years had a column in Runner’s World.

Now, if I were running for high office, and didn’t know much of anything about anything, I would probably look for a “reader’s digest” — a primer, if you will — to help me get oriented. If I’m running, then I would probably see Runner’s World there on the shelf and think, Hey, I’m running for something! This is probably pretty helpful.

The most recent issue of Foreign Policy Quarterly

The most recent issue of Foreign Policy Quarterly

And put yourself in her shoes: you open up Runner’s World, having heard for the last several weeks about all of the strange exotic places in the news, and half the sentences start with “I ran.” What would you think? it’s an easy mistake to make.

This whole thing is just a big misunderstanding.

One Response to “This is all just a big misunderstanding.”

  1. qazse Says:

    Funny stuff, the morning after, I ran. Enjoyed the post!

    President Palin


Leave a Reply

